Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Reggae North

International News

Rebel Soulz for Evermore

The Rebel Soulz band is back in action with the Evermore Riddim’, a recently released compilation album. It contains songs by its co-founder Mason Di Emperor, Bugle and Jahra. Each song is accompanied by a dub version. Those songs are Evermore’ by Mason Di Emperor, What Next’ by Bugle and Right Direction’ by Jahra.

Mason Di Emperor started Rebel Soulz in 1992. At the time, he was a member of The United States Navy in Japan. Six years later, he met Rayon Webb, a likeminded musician, and the seeds of Rebel Soulz were officially sown.

Their bandmates are Sandra Crosdale on bass, percussionist Sydney “Congo Billy” Watson, drummer Marlon Dixon and keyboardist Andrew O’Gilvie. Guitarist Mitchum “Khan” Chin, whose extensive credits include touring and recording sessions with The Firehouse Crew, Sizzla, Luciano, Buju Banton and Tarrus Riley, contributed to the Evermore project.

The ‘Evermore Riddim’ is the most ambitious project by Rebel Soulz since a live EP which was recorded in 2019 at Tuff Gong studios in Kingston, Jamaica. While he has dedicated much of his time to Rebel Soulz, Mason Di Emperor has had several hit songs as a solo act. They include ‘6 East’, ‘Wine my World’ and ‘Summer Vibes’. He has also released three albums — ‘Lover’s Rock’, ‘Overcome’ and ‘Freedom’.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *